Conducting clinical studies during COVID-19 pandemic

In the current situation, may patients continue to be included and treated in clinical studies? Here you will find relevant information, regulations and answers to frequently asked questions.


On Friday, 20 March 2020, the Federal Council decreed more stringent measures to contain the COVID-19 pandemic. The Rectorate of the University of Basel has subsequently tightened its regulations in the area of research and is switching research to emergency operation until further notice.

Guideline of the DKF tast force COVID-19, 25 March 2020

This guideline replaces the statements of the DKF directors of 19 and 24 March 2020.
It is binding for the University Hospital Basel and was recommended for adoption by the University Children's Hospital Basel, the University Psychiatric Clinics Basel, the Cantonal Hospitals Baselland and Aarau as well as the Felix Platter Hospital, St. Clara Hospital, the University General Practitioners' Centre and the University Dental Clinic.

Based on the information provided by the rectorate of the University of Basel on 22.3.2020 regarding the conversion of research to emergency operation, the following regulations apply to clinical research activities at the USB with immediate effect and initially until 19 April 2020. The aim of this directive is to protect patients, healthy volunteers, study and hospital personnel from infection with SARS-CoV-2 and not to place an additional burden on the hospital infrastructure.

Research activities in the clinical research groups


1. Phase I trials have to be stopped. The Outpatient Study Center at the University Hospital Basel will remain closed for the treatment of patients with immediate effect and until further notice. Maintenance work will continue to be carried out by DKF staff.

2. Observational studies with physical patient contact may be continued with already included patients, taking into account the conditions mentioned in paragraph 4. The inclusion of new patients has to be stopped.

3. Patients already enrolled in therapeutic intervention studies may also continue treatment, taking into account the conditions mentioned in paragraph 4. The inclusion of new patients is also possible under strict risk-benefit considerations. Paragraph 4 applies analogously.

4. Conditions for the continuation of studies according to paragraphs 2 and 3:

  • Study visits may only be carried out by our own study staff, without any additional burden on hospital staff
  • Follow-up visits for outpatients must be possible by telephone or home visits
  • The current hospital instructions and hygiene guidelines for handling COVID-19 must be applied by all study staff
  • The hospital infrastructure/resources must not be put under additional burden by study activities

The study must be reported to and approved by the DKF Task Force COVID-19 with the following information provided to forms.dkfbasel.ch/covid19-laufende-studien

  • Study title
  • Study Synopsis
  • Principle Investigator and Sponsor at the study site
  • Number of patients affected
  • Duration of the visit
  • Brief justification why the study should be continued
  • Short description of what is done to protect the patients / test persons (e.g. home visits, telephone interviews etc)

5. Studies on COVID-19

All clinical studies on the prevention, course or treatment of COVID-19 diseases must also be reported with the following information provided to forms.dkfbasel.ch/covid19-studien

  • Study title
  • Study Sponsor
  • Principle Investigator at the study site
  • Study type: Intervention/observation
  • Status: running/planned

6. Studies without patient contact and without the presence of study personnel in the clinical facilities of the University Hospital (e.g. retrospective master's theses) may be continued without approval from the DKF, provided they comply with the additional instructions of the University of Basel.

Studiendurchführung während COVID-19 Pandemie

Darf man in der momentanen Situation Patientinnen und Patienten weiterhin in Studien einschliessen und behandeln?
Hier finden Sie Informationen, Richtlinien und Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen.


Der Bundesrat hat am Freitag, 20. März 2020 verschärfte Massnahmen zur Eindämmung der COVID-19 Pandemie verordnet. Das Rektorat der Universität Basel verschärfte in der Folge seine Regelungen im Bereich der Forschung und stellt bis auf weiteres die Forschung auf Notbetrieb um.

Richtlinie der DKF Task Force COVID-19 vom 25. März 2020

Diese Richtlinie ersetzt die Stellungnahmen der DKF-Leitung vom 19. und 24. März 2020.
Sie gilt verbindlich für das Universitätsspital Basel und wurde dem Universitäts-Kinderspital beider Basel, den Universitären Psychiatrischen Klinischen Basel, den Kantonsspitälern Baselland und Aarau sowie dem Felix-Platter-Spital, dem St.Clara Spital, dem Universitäten Hausärztezentrum und der Universitätszahnklinik zur Übernahme empfohlen. Forschungsgruppen an diesen Institutionen, erkundigen sich bitte bei der jeweiligen ärztlichen Leitung, welche Regelungen vor Ort gelten.

Gestützt auf die Information des Rektorats der Universität Basel vom 22.3.2020 zur Umstellung der Forschung auf Notbetrieb gelten für den klinischen Forschungsbetrieb am USB per sofort und zunächst bis zum 19. April 2020 folgende Regelungen. Ziel dieser Weisung ist es Patienten, gesunde Freiwillige, Studien-und Spitalpersonal vor einer Ansteckung mit SARS-CoV-2 zu schützen und die Spitalinfrastruktur nicht zusätzlich zu belasten.

Forschungsaktivitäten in den klinischen Forschungsgruppen

1. Phase I Studien sind gestoppt. Das Ambulante Studienzentrum am Universitätsspital Basel bleibt per sofort und bis auf weiteres für die Behandlung von Patienten geschlossen. Unterhaltsarbeiten werden weiterhin vom DKF-Personal durchgeführt.

2. Observationsstudien mit physischem Patientenkontakt dürfen unter Berücksichtigung der in Ziffer 4 genannten Punkte bei bereits eingeschlossenen Patienten weitergeführt werden. Der Einschluss neuer Patienten ist gestoppt.

3. Bereits eingeschlossene Patienten in therapeutischen Interventionsstudien dürfen unter Berücksichtigung der in Ziffer 4 genannten Punkte ebenfalls weiterbehandelt werden. Der Neueinschluss von Patienten ist unter strenger Nutzen-Risiko-Abwägung ebenfalls möglich, Ziffer 4 gilt analog.

4. Bedingungen für die Studienweiterführung gemäss Ziffer 2 und 3

  • Studienvisiten werden nur durch eigenes Studienpersonal durchgeführt, ohne Zusatzbelastung des Spitalpersonals
  • Follow-up Visiten für ambulante Patienten müssen rein telefonisch oder durch Heimvisiten durchführbar sein
  • Die aktuellen Spitalweisungen und Hygienerichtlinien im Umgang mit COVID-19 müssen von allen Studienmitarbeitenden beachtet werden
  • Die Spitalinfrastruktur/Ressourcen darf keine Zusatzbelastung durch Studienaktivitäten erfahren

Die Studie muss der DKF Task Force COVID-19 mit folgenden Angaben an forms.dkfbasel.ch/covid19-laufende-studien gemeldet und von dieser bewilligt werden

  • Studientitel
  • Studiensynopsis
  • Principle Investigator und Sponsor am Durchführungsort
  • Anzahl betroffener Patienten
  • Dauer der Visite
  • Kurze Begründung, warum die Studie weitergeführt werden sollte
  • Kurze Beschreibung, was für den Schutz der Patienten / Probanden gemacht wird (Bsp Home-Visiten, Telefoninterviews etc)

5. Studien zu COVID-19

Alle klinischen Forschungsprojekte zur Prävention, dem Verlauf oder der Behandlung von COVID-19 Erkrankungen müssen mit folgenden Angaben ebenfalls gemeldet werden an forms.dkfbasel.ch/covid19-studien

  • Studientitel
  • Studiensponsor
  • Principle Investigator am Durchführungsort
  • Studientyp: Intervention/ Beobachtung
  • Status: laufend/ geplant

6. Studien ohne Patientenkontakt und ohne Präsenz des Studienpersonals in den klinischen Räumlichkeiten des Universitätsspitals (z.B. retrospektive Masterarbeiten) dürfen ohne Bewilligung seitens DKF, sofern sie die zusätzlichen Weisungen der Universität Basel erfüllen, weitergeführt werden