RC2NB - Research Center for Clinical Neuroimmunology and Neuroscience Basel


The newly founded research center RC2NB coordinates and intensifies research in the field of multiple sclerosis and neuroimmunology in Basel. The Department of Clinical Research (DKF) provides support with its many years of experience in data analysis/statistics, data management, data science and regulatory affairs.


The Research Center for Clinical Neuroimmunology and Neuroscience Basel (RC2NB), is run by a non-profit foundation of the University Hospital Basel (USB) with participation of the University of Basel. It was founded at the USB in late 2019 as a logical continuation of a decade-long commitment and internationally renowned, clinically oriented research for patients with multiple sclerosis (MS) and other neuroimmunological diseases.

MS is a chronic inflammatory disease of the central nervous system, in which the inflammation and related degenerative processes lead to a breakdown of the myelin layer and damage to the nerve cells themselves. For this reason, those affected suffer from relapsing-remitting deterioration on the one hand, but also from slowly increasing physical limitations on the other. The cause of this disease, which affects about 15,000 mainly young people in Switzerland and about 2.5 million worldwide, is not known. Genetic and environmental factors play a role, which lead to an excessive reaction of the immune system.

A cure is unfortunately not yet possible. However, the new drugs developed in the last 20 years with the significant involvement of Basel Neurology can not only prevent relapses but also stop the increasing physical limitations. Many MS sufferers can therefore lead a largely unimpaired and productive life in the long term.

Logo RC2NB

Direction
Prof. Ludwig Kappos, CEO
Deputy: Prof. Jens Kuhle

Dr. Yvonne Nägelin, COO

Workstream 1
Digital Future

Dr. Yvonne Naegelin, Dr. Johannes Lorscheider, Dr. Marcus D’Souza and Prof. Ludwig Kappos

Workstream 2
Innovative imaging and analysis of body fluids
Prof. Cristina Granziera and Prof. Jens Kuhle

Workstream 3
Recording and understanding the malfunctioning of the immune system in the laboratory
Prof. Tobias Derfuss, PD Dr. Matthias Mehling und PD Dr. Anne-Katrin Pröbstel

DKF support
Data Analysis/Statistics, Data Management, Data Science, Regulatory Affairs


With advances in the development of new therapies for MS, the question is not if, but how and when to treat. This requires the complete and accurate characterization of the course of the disease. The RC2NB aims to strengthen internationally recognized expertise and innovative research projects on this topic in Basel and to complement them with research on digital biomarkers and with methods of information processing and artificial intelligence.

Prof. Ludwig Kappos, CEO RC2NB

Bundled forces

The team around Prof. Ludwig Kappos in the Department of Neurology and at the MS Center in Basel has been significantly involved in the clinical testing of almost all drugs for MS that have now been approved. Several competitively funded research groups are dedicated to improving the clinical, imaging, biochemical, molecular and cellular characterization of the disease process and understanding the effects and side effects of newly developed therapies. The largest MS center in Switzerland and systematically documented patient cohorts coordinated from here, together with local, national and international networking with academic institutions and the research industry, provide the best conditions for this research. They also allow the translation of their results into advances in diagnostics and therapy.    

The new research center, with its new research area on innovative digital biomarkers, will strengthen the existing expertise by further developing structures for managing and processing large amounts of highly complex data. Cutting-edge methods of artificial intelligence will also be used. The RC2NB does not aim to build up its own new structures, but to use and further develop existing structures of the USB and the university and thus make them even more useful for research. The existing research departments and especially the Department of Clinical Research (DKF) play a central role in this process.

Three workstreams - one vision

The activities at the RC2NB are divided into three workstreams, which drive different research areas in parallel but at the same time remain intensively networked with each other in order to live the vision of the RC2NB together.

RC2NB aims to combine the expertise already present in the field for a comprehensive and in-depth characterization of the disease process and to complement and strengthen joint innovative research in MS and other inflammatory diseases of the nervous system. Especially the integration of information from the different workstreams and the analysis of these multidimensional data with innovative methods of biostatistics and artificial intelligence will be a core competence of the center. It will ensure the intensive exchange between the different working groups in neurology and other research groups at the USB.

 


The role of the DKF

The DKF supports the RC2NB as an academic partner with its many years of experience in the fields of data analysis/statistics, data management, data science and regulation.

 DKF Team RC2NB

DKF staff for the RC2NB (from left to right): Andrea Wiencierz, PhD, Fabrice Noel Helfenstein, PhD, Sabine Schädelin, MSc, Pascal Benkert, PhD. Not on the picture: Suvitha Subramaniam, MSc.

October 2020

RC2NB - Research Center for Clinical Neuroimmunology and Neuroscience Basel


Das neu gegründete Forschungszentrum RC2NB koordiniert und intensiviert die Forschung im Bereich Multiple Sklerose und Neuroimmunologie am Standort Basel. Das Departement Klinische Forschung (DKF) unterstützt mit seiner langjährigen Erfahrung in den Bereichen Data Analysis/Statistik, Data Management, Data Science und Regulatorik.


Das Research Center for Clinical Neuroimmunology and Neuroscience Basel (RC2NB), wird getragen von einer Non-Profit Stiftung des Universitätsspital Basel (USB) mit Beteiligung der Universität Basel. Es wurde Ende 2019 am USB gegründet als konsequente Fortsetzung eines jahrzehntelangen Engagements und international renommierter, klinisch ausgerichteter Forschung für Menschen mit Multipler Sklerose (MS) und anderen neuroimmunologischen Erkrankungen.

Die MS ist eine chronisch-entzündliche Erkrankung des zentralen Nervensystems, wobei es durch die Entzündung und damit zusammenhängenden degenerativen Prozessen zu einem Abbau der Myelinschicht und Schädigung der Nervenzellen selbst kommt. Deshalb leiden Betroffene einerseits an schubförmigen Verschlechterungen, andererseits auch an langsam zunehmenden körperlichen Einschränkungen. Die Ursache dieser Erkrankung, die ungefähr 15'000 vor allem junge Menschen in der Schweiz und ca. 2.5 Millionen weltweit betrifft, ist nicht geklärt. Eine Rolle spielen aber genetische und Umwelt-Faktoren, die zu einer überschiessenden Reaktion des Immunsystems führen. Eine Heilung  ist leider noch nicht möglich. Doch können die in den letzten 20 Jahren mit massgeblicher Beteiligung der Basler Neurologie neu entwickelten Medikamente nicht nur Schübe verhindern, sondern auch die zunehmenden körperlichen Einschränkungen aufhalten. Vielen MS-Betroffene können deshalb langfristig ein weitgehend unbeeinträchtigtes und produktives Leben führen.

Logo RC2NB

Leitung
Prof. Ludwig Kappos, CEO
Prof. Jens Kuhle, stv. CEO

Workstream 1
Digitale Zukunft

Prof. Ludwig Kappos, Dr. Yvonne Naegelin, Dr. Johannes Lorscheider, Dr. Marcus D’Souza, Dr. Tim Wölfle und Silvan Pless

Workstream 2
Innovative Bildgebung und Analyse von Körperflüssigkeiten

Prof. Cristina Granziera und Prof. Jens Kuhle

Workstream 3
Im Labor die Fehlregelung des Immunsystems erfassen und verstehen

Prof. Tobias Derfuss, PD Dr. Matthias Mehling und PD Dr. Anne-Katrin Pröbstel

Vom DKF unterstützt durch
Daten Analysis/Statistik, Data Management, Data Science Regulatorik


Mit den Fortschritten in der Entwicklung neuer Therapien bei MS, ist die Frage nicht ob, sondern womit und wann zu behandeln. Dazu braucht es eine möglichst vollständige und akkurate Charakterisierung des Krankheitsverlaufs. International anerkannte Expertise und innovative Forschungsprojekte hierzu in Basel zu stärken und mit der Forschung zu digitalen Biomarkern und mit Methoden der Informationsverarbeitung und artificial intelligence zu ergänzen ist das Ziel des RC2NB.

Prof. Ludwig Kappos, CEO RC2NB

Gebündelte Kräfte

Das Team um Prof. Ludwig Kappos in der Neurologie und am MS-Zentrum in Basel war seit vielen Jahren massgeblich an der klinischen Erprobung nahezu aller inzwischen zugelassenen Medikamente für MS beteiligt. Mehrere kompetitiv geförderte Forschungsgruppen widmen sich der besseren klinischen, bildgebenden, biochemischen, molekularen und zellulären Charakterisierung des Krankheitsprozesses und dem Verständnis der Wirkungen und Nebenwirkungen von neu entwickelten Therapien. Das grösste MS-Zentrum der Schweiz und systematisch dokumentierte, von hier koordinierte Patientenkohorten bieten zusammen mit der lokalen, nationalen und internationalen Vernetzung mit akademischen Institutionen und der forschenden Industrie beste Voraussetzungen für diese Forschung. Sie erlauben ausserdem die Translation ihrer Ergebnisse in Fortschritte von Diagnostik und Therapie.    

Das neue Forschungszentrum soll mit dem neu hinzugekommenen Forschungsgebiet zu innovativen digitalen Biomarkern, die vorhandene Expertise stärken, indem Strukturen zur Verwaltung und Verarbeitung grosser Mengen hochkomplexer Daten weiterentwickelt werden. Weiter sollen «cutting edge» Methoden der künstlichen Intelligenz eingesetzt werden. Das RC2NB ist nicht bestrebt, eigene neue Strukturen aufzubauen, sondern vorhandene Strukturen des USB und der Universität zu nutzen und weiterzuentwickeln und damit für die Forschung noch besser nutzbar zu machen. Die existierenden Forschungsdepartemente und insbesondere das Departement Klinische Forschung (DKF) spielen dabei eine zentrale Rolle.

RC2NB Team

Gemeinsam MS-Forschung betreiben: Das RC2NB-Team (v.l.n.r): v.l.n.r: Prof. Ludwig Kappos, Dr. Johannes Lorscheider, Prof. Tobias Derfuss, Silvan Pless, Dr. Tim Wölfle, PD. Dr. Matthias Mehling, Dr. Marcus D'Souza, Pascal Benkert, PhD , Prof. Jens Kuhle, Sandrine Brouette, Prof. Cristina Granziera, Dr. Yvonne Naegelin


Drei Workstreams - eine Vision

Die Aktivitäten am RC2NB sind in drei Workstreams aufgegliedert, welche parallel verschiedene Forschungsbereiche vorantreiben aber zeitgleich intensiv miteinander vernetzt bleiben, um gemeinsam die Vision des RC2NB zu leben.


RC2NB hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die vor Ort bereits vertretene Expertise für eine umfassende und in die Tiefe gehende Charakterisierung des Krankheitsprozesses zu bündeln und die gemeinsame innovative Forschung bei MS und anderen entzündlichen Erkrankungen des Nervensystems zu ergänzen und zu stärken. Insbesondere die Integration der Informationen aus den verschiedenen Workstreams und die Analyse dieser multidimensionalen Daten mit innovativen Methoden der Biostatistik und der künstlichen Intelligenz wird eine Kernkompetenz des Zentrums sein. Es gewährleistet den intensiven Austausch der verschiedenen Arbeitsgruppen der Neurologie mit weiteren Forschungsgruppen im Hause.

Das DKF unterstützt das RC2NB dabei als akademischer Partner mit seiner langjährigen Erfahrung in den Bereichen Data Analysis/Statistik, Data Management, Data Science und Regulatorik.

DKF Team RC2NB

DKF Mitarbeitende für das RC2NB (v.l.n.r.): Andrea Wiencierz, PhD, Fabrice Noel Helfenstein, PhD, Sabine Schädelin, MSc, Pascal Benkert, PhD. Nicht abgebildet: Suvitha Subramaniam, MSc.

Oktober 2020