Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board advises the Executive Board on scientific and strategic issues. Once a year, it conducts an independent evaluation of selected research groups and assesses the department's activities in terms of support and innovation.

Permanent Members

Prof. Roland Buhl, MD

Head of Pulmonary Department
University Medical Center of the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany

Expertise: Cohort Studies

Prof. Steffen U. Eisenhardt, MD

Managing Senior Physician
Head Division of Reconstructive Microsurgery, Hospital for Plastic and Hand Surgery of the University Hospital Freiburg, Germany

Expertise: Translational studies

Prof. Ulrich Dirnagl, MD

Department Director Experimental Neurology
Founding Director BIH QUEST Center
Charité - University Medicine Berlin

Expertise: Experimental Neurology and Open Science

Prof. Pia Maria Sormani, PhD

Biostatistics Unit
Department of Health Sciences (DISSAL)
University of Genoa, Italy

Expertise: Biostatistics

Prof. Marco Valgimigli, MD

Deputy chief of cardiology
Cardio Centro Ticino, Lugano, Switzerland

Expertise: Randomized controlled studies

Ad-Hoc Members 2023

Prof. Florian Lordick, MD

Director Leipzig University Cancer Center (UCCL)

Leipzig University Hospital

Expertise: Clinical and translational research in gastrointestinal tract cancers

Prof. Jukka Takala, MD

University Hospial of Bern

Expertise: Research on the pathophysiology of multiorgan failure