CARLO® - a medical technology innovation from Basel

The Department of Clinical Research is accompanying a first-in-man study of the innovative robot-assisted surgical system "CARLO®", a development from the Basel start-up "AOT".

On 3 July 2019, the world's first maxillary correction using robot-controlled laser ablation took place at the University Hospital Basel (USB). For the first time, the incision of a human bone was carried out by laser-supported robotic technology instead of the usual surgical instruments, such as a saw or a drill - a medical sensation.

[Translate to English:] Carlo_OP

CARLO®

Cold Ablation Robot-guided Laser Osteotomes

CARLO® is the world's first medical, tactile robot that can cut bone without contact and autonomously with cold laser technology. The innovation is a development of the Basel medical technology start-up "Advanced Osteotomy Tools - AOT AG".

AOT was founded in 2010 by Dr. Alfredo Bruno, Prof. Philippe Cattin, Prof. Hans-Florian Zeilhofer of the Hightech Research Center of the USB and Prof. Philipp Jürgens, Senior Physician of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at the USB. Each of the four founders brought substantial knowledge in the disciplines of laser physics, robotics and bone surgery to the company.

AOT launched the first-in-man CARLO® study in Basel in collaboration with the research group led by PD Dr. Andreas Müller, Senior Physician for oral and maxillofacial surgery at the USB, and the Department of Clinical Research (DKF). Meanwhile, other successful transoral midface osteotomies using contactless robot-assisted surgery have been performed in Basel and Vienna, respectively. The fourth use of CARLO® is again planned at the USB. The study is intended to demonstrate the safety and performance of the CARLO® device and serve as the basis for its CE certification and, consequently, for its market launch in Europe.


The clinical testing of a medical device has become complex. However, it is important that we can be actively involved in shaping the transfer of innovative surgical techniques. The DKF team has proven to be a reliable research partner for this undertaking.

PD Dr. Andreas Müller, Oral and maxillofacial surgery at USB

First successful deployments

Carlo_Skelett

Silke Purschke, Study Nurse at the DKF, accompanies Andreas Müller's research team into the operating theatre. She documents that all operations during the procedure are carried out accurately and strictrly according to the protocol. She also coordinates and documents the follow-up visits with the treated patients. It is crucial to know how the healing process progresses for the individual study participants after the use of CARLO®. For Andreas Müller and his team, the first-in-man study is also an instructive and interesting experience.


It is impressive to experience the possibilites of innovative technology in the field of surgery close up.

Silke Purschke, Study Nurse at the DKF

AOT revolutionises bone surgery with CARLO®

The CARLO® contactless laser technology makes it possible to completely digitise the entire process from preoperative planning to incision. Cutting jigs or special instruments are no longer necessary. In addition, laser technology ensures the safe use of robotics for osteotomies, since the cutting instrument, the laser, can be removed immediately and safely at the speed of light in case of erratic patient movements. CARLO® only cuts when the patient and the robot are synchronised. Another advantage of the new technology is the ability to execute freely defined cutting patterns, which allows for new and gentler surgical techniques. This should accelerate the bone healing process, as seen in promising results from preclinical studies.

The laser can be used universally on the entire body. Similar to a smartphone, the technology enables the upload of applications that support the physician in the complete implementation of the intervention. One initial app has been developed by AOT for the indication "maxillary correction". Further indications will follow. Upon successful study completion and approval, the device would be marketed internationally.

CARLO® - eine medizintechnische Innovation aus Basel

Das Departement Klinische Forschung begleitet eine First-in-man Studie des innovativen Roboter-assistierten, chirurgischen Systems «CARLO®» des Basler Start-Ups «AOT».

Am 3. Juli 2019 fand am Universitätsspital Basel (USB) die weltweit erste Oberkieferkorrektur mittels robotergesteuerter Laserablation statt. Zum ersten Mal erfolgte der Schnitt eines menschlichen Knochens mithilfe eines durch Roboter- Technik unterstützen Lasers anstelle der üblichen chirurgischen Instrumente, wie zum Beispiel einer Säge oder eines Bohrers – eine medizinische Sensation.

Carlo_OP

CARLO®

Cold Ablation Robot-guided Laser Osteotome

CARLO® ist der weltweit erste medizinische, taktile Roboter, der Knochen berührungsfrei und autonom mit kalter Lasertechnologie schneiden kann. Die Innovation ist eine Entwicklung des Basler Medtech-Startups «Advanced Osteotomy Tools - AOT AG».

AOT wurde 2010 von Dr. Alfredo Bruno, Prof. Philippe Cattin, Prof. Hans-Florian Zeilhofer des Hightech-Forschungs-Zentrums des USB sowie Prof. Philipp Jürgens, Kaderarzt der Mund-, Kiefer- und Gesichtschirurgie am USB, ins Leben gerufen. Jeder der vier Gründer brachte substanzielles Wissen in den Disziplinen Laserphysik, Robotik und Knochenchirurgie in das Unternehmen mit ein.

Know-how in der klinischen Forschung

AOT hat die First-in-man Studie von CARLO® in Basel gemeinsam mit der Forschungsgruppe um PD Dr. Andreas Müller, Kaderarzt der Mund-, Kiefer- und Gesichtschirurgie am USB, und dem Departement Klinische Forschung (DKF) lanciert. Mittlerweile fanden vier weitere erfolgreiche transorale Mittelgesichtsosteotomien mittels kontaktloser Roboter-assistierten Chirurgie in Basel und in Wien statt. Die nächsten Einsätze von CARLO® sind in Wien geplant. Die Studie soll die Sicherheit und Leistung des CARLO®-Gerätes demonstrieren und dient als Grundlage für dessen CE-Kennzeichnung und damit für die Markteinführung in Europa.


Die klinische Prüfung eines Medizinprodukts ist komplex und regulatorisch aufwändig geworden. Es ist aber wichtig, dass wir am USB auch klinische Forschung durchführen und den Transfer innovativer chirurgischer Techniken in das Spital aktiv mitgestalten können. Das DKF mit seinem Team ist hierfür einer verlässlicher Forschungspartner.

PD Dr. Andreas Müller, Kaderarzt der Mund-, Kiefer- und Gesichtschirurgie am USB

Carlo_Skelett

Erste erfolgreiche Einsätze

Silke Purschke, Study Nurse am DKF, begleitet das Forschungsteam von Andreas Müller in den Operationsaal. Sie dokumentiert streng nach Studienprotokoll alle Vorgänge während des Eingriffs. Sie übernimmt auch die Koordination und Dokumentation der Follow-up-Visiten mit den behandelten Patientinnen und Patienten. Schliesslich ist es ausschlaggebend zu wissen, wie sich der Heilungsprozess nach den Einsätzen von CARLO® für die einzelnen Studienteilnehmenden entwickelt. Auch für Andreas Müller und sein Team ist die First-in-man-Studie eine lehrreiche und interessante Erfahrung.


Es ist beeindruckend, hautnah miterleben zu dürfen, was mit innovativer Technik im Bereich Chirurgie alles möglich ist.

Silke Purschke, Study Nurse am DKF

AOT revolutioniert mit CARLO® die Knochenchirurgie

Die berührungsfreie Lasertechnologie CARLO® ermöglicht es, den gesamten Prozess von der präoperativen Planung bis zum Schnitt vollständig zu digitalisieren. Schnittlehren oder spezielle Instrumente sind nicht mehr nötig. Zudem gewährleistet die Lasertechnologie den sicheren Einsatz von Robotern bei Osteotomien, da das Schneidinstrument, der Laser, bei erratischen Patientenbewegungen mit Lichtgeschwindigkeit und ohne Gefahr sofort entfernt werden kann. CARLO® schneidet nur dann, wenn der Patient und der Roboter synchronisiert sind. Ein weiterer Vorteil der neuen Technologie ist die Fähigkeit, frei definierbare Schnittmuster auszuführen, was neue und schonendere Operationstechniken erlaubt. Dadurch soll der Knochenheilungsprozess schneller verlaufen, wie präklinische Studien hoffen lassen.

Der Laser ist universell am gesamten Körper einsetzbar. Ähnlich einem Smartphone ermöglicht die Technologie den Upload von Applikationen, die den Arzt oder die Ärztin bei der kompletten Umsetzung des Eingriffs unterstützen. Eine erste solche APP hat AOT für die Indikation «Oberkieferkorrektur» entwickelt. Weitere Indikationen werden folgen. Nach erfolgreicher Studie und Zulassung des Gerätes soll das Gerät international kommerzialisiert werden.